Juliet Takes A Breath || A Book Review

I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was released January 2016. So it should already be on some bookshelves somewhere, and I hope it finds space on even more shelves in the coming years.

This novel follows Juliet Milagros Palante from the Bronx to a summer internship in Portland Oregon with the author of her favorite book. While in Portland she plans on figuring out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing, and how to get her mother to talk to her again after coming out to the whole family at dinner. This novel is a coming of age story, that deals with white feminism and finding space in queer communities as a POC.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Take Me With You || A Book Review

I received a galley of this collection of poems from PENGUIN GROUP Blue Rider Press & Plume through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This collection is set for publication on January 23, 2018.

I will start by saying that if you are even a casual “I saw this piece in a Button Poetry youtube video” fan of Andrea Gibson and their work. You should get your hands on this collection ASAP. Andrea Gibson is an award-winning poet and activist from Calais, Maine. Their poetry focuses on gender norms, politics, social reform, and LGBTQ issues. The galley description states: “For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Atticus (Love Her Wild), a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.” And that feels like an apt description. This collection is divided into three sections and is full of one-liners, couplets, and long-form poems and each of them what made me fall in love all over again with Gibson’s work.

This review might be overshadowed by the fact that while reading this galley in the breakroom at work, I almost started crying because Gibson’s poetry knows how to cut at my baby-queer heart.

Continue reading

The Accelerated Reader Program

Accelerated Reader Tests, or AR Tests, was the reading program used by my elementary school and middle school to get us reading. We were tested, and based on our reading comprehension in these tests told what books to read that would increase our reading level, and then every month we were expected to take tests on these books and gain points.

accelerated-reader-banner

The Accelerated Reader Banner

Looking back on this it seems like a very convoluted way to instill a love of reading in students, a love that if it wasn’t there already this system didn’t seem to create. But that is neither here nor there. This is a mild call-out post to Accelerated Reader and the way that it was treated as some insane points based way to turn kids into readers while I was in grade school (2000-2008), and how it never really seemed to succeed in the way that any concerned party wanted them to. Things may have changed in the years since I was subjected to AR. Maybe there is a new program, maybe they’ve decided to actually do away with this way of encouraging kids to read, I mean YA-books are certainly more interesting than they were when I was looking for things to read. So hopefully things have become better? Either way, here is my story of AR Tests and how the system never seemed to work for anyone

Continue reading

Mr. Fox || A Book Review

This review is going to end up being another “this book was published in 2011 and I AM SO MAD AT MYSELF FOR NOT READING OYEyemi’s work sooner” kind of a review. So, you’ve all been warned ahead of time.

Mr. Fox is a novel that weaves in and out of itself, it tells the drama that is Mr. St John Fox, Daphne Fox, and Mary Foxe’s “love triangle,” with brief fable-like interludes that examine the ins and outs of entering relationships, failing relationships, and what draws people together. St. John Fox is an author who writes fairy tales that end with the death of the heroine. Daphne Fox is his very real wife, that, as the novel progresses, we discover isn’t secure in her relationship with St. John or in who is as an individual. Mary Foxe is St. John Fox’s muse, and she has grown tired of the heroine always dying in his stories and has taken on a physical form.

Continue reading

SonOfAWitch! || A Review


I suppose I should start this review by stating that I received a galley of this anthology from World Weaver Press on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This anthology will be published on 10/3/2017.

SonOfAWitch! is an anthology of six short stories edited by Trish Thompson. When I saw the cover and read the description of this book, I was excited. Witches doing fun things is a perfect way to set the mood for fall when you’re struggling to get into the fall spirit due to global warming. Each story in this collection focuses on a spell gone wrong and the disastrous effects that can have on the witch that cast it or the people surrounding them.

Continue reading

Small Life Update

I know, I know, it’s been about a month since I posted anything. I swear I’m still reading things and having thoughts on them, it’s just been a busy month (I moved to Kentucky and started a new internship! So good busy, but kind of crazy) and I did not anticipate things getting tough with scheduling when I was scheduling posts out in August.

On a book photo shoot for my internship, we encountered this little guy working with some lavender

I’ve just gotten around to finishing some review posts and they should be going live in the next few weeks, and then I’m gathering information on the Accelerated Reader Program used in grade schools in an attempt to write something about it.

If you want to keep up with what I’m doing and seeing pictures of books I’m reading follow me on Instagram here and happy reading!

I got this guy at a flea market here in Kentucky and now they sits next to my computer at work. I call them Spiky Guy

When Dimple Met Rishi || A Book Review

When-Dimple-Met-Rishi-book-cover

When Dimple Met Rishi cover

When Dimple Met Rishi is YA romantic comedy at it’s finest. The story follows Dimple Shah—a recent high school grad who is excited to start the web-development program at Stanford and to move away from her family and her mother’s obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband”— and Rishi Patel— a hopeless romantic, who is attending MIT in the fall to continue his father’s business, and follows the traditions of his family–through a six week summer program for app-development. Dimple and Rishi’s parents have decided that the two teenagers would be perfect for one another, and they are each attending this camp to meet. Their story starts as many romcoms do with a few spilled drinks, or one drink spilled forcefully over a person’s head… Menon moves the pair through all the trials of young summer love in a fast paced and fun way while letting her characters hold onto who they are at their cores.

I’m not even going to wait until after the cut to say that every single one of you should go get this book and read it. I’ll, of course, tell you more specifically why you should read it at the end of this blog post but, after accidentally reading parts of a few one-star reviews on Goodreads, and hearing some of the critics that were going around about this book a few months ago, I want to encourage you to get this book, to read it, and  I hope my judgements are right and that most people would love this book if given the chance — love it. 

Continue reading

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue || A Book Review


Reading The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue was the most fun I’ve had reading in quite a while. It reminded me what I love about YA fiction and well following Monty, Percy, and Felicity around their Grand Tour on the Continent in the eighteenth century is full of romance, mystery, and pirates—excuse me privateers–and was a blast and a half. Lee made the eighteenth century (the 1700s) accessible, and each of the characters feels like full people.

And before the cut, I need to mention that Monty is very bisexual, and this is not a spoiler because from the get he tells us how in love with Percy he is and later we see him go on jaunts with the ladies. Monty is bisexual! And while that term is not ever used Lee explains at the end of the book that that choice was because the term didn’t exist until the 1800s, and so I can respect that decision. But we’ve got a bi-character ladies and gents, and my bisexual-ass is extra excited about it.

Now, back to your regularly scheduled reviewing, under the cut of course.

Continue reading

Gork, the Teenage Dragon || A Book Review

 

Cover of Gork, the Teenage Dragon

Cover of Gork, the Teenage Dragon

This novel follows Gork a teenage dragon as he attempts to woo the “luscious chick” Runcita to be his Queen for the EggHarvest, a tradition for teenage dragons before they leave to colonize their own planet to continue the domination of dragon-kind over the rest of the galaxy. Moments of this book were a ton of fun, learning about dragon history from a teenage dragon who just wants to set the record straight was a blast, the tone hit the right amount of disappointment and snark to make a believable teenager: “The most offensive book out there about us dragons is the lunatic ravings of a man-creature that goes by the name of Mr. J.R.R. Tolkien” (4). The world that Hudson has built is fascinating and all encompassing, throughout Gork’s tale he gives us flashbacks to important moments in dragon history. This world creation was the strongest thing about this novel.

 

Spoilers under the cut

Continue reading

Uprooted || A Book Review

cover of Uprooted

Cover of Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik’s novel Uprooted reads like a Fairy Tale. It follows Agnieszka, who loves her home despite the corruption of the Wood that surrounds it. The people of her village and within the surrounding valley give a young woman to the “Dragon” (human wizard, not a large reptile) as a tribute for their protection from the Wood. Everyone knows that her friend Kasia will be taken, that is until the day of the choosing when he instead takes Agnieszka. The story follows her and the Dragon as they work to protect the kingdom and wage war against the growing Wood. The world created by Novik is all encompassing, and I was most drawn to her depiction of natural places overtaking man-made ones with a vengeance.

SPOILERS BELOW THE CUT

Continue reading